2011 Census Geography boundaries (Counties)

Counties were formerly administrative units across the whole of the UK. Due to various administrative restructurings, however, the only administrative areas still referred to as 'counties' are the Non-Metropolitan Districts of England. The English Metropolitan Districts, although no longer administrative units, are also used for statistical purposes.

The Counties area list contains 35 areas of the following constituent English geographies:

Please visit ONS Beginner's Guide to UK Geography for more info.

The boundaries are available as either extent of the realm (usually this is the Mean Low Water mark but in some cases boundaries extend beyond this to include off shore islands) or

clipped to the coastline (Mean High Water mark).

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Created September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Visibility Public
Year 2011
Topics Geography
Geographic Layer Counties
Frequency Decennial
Citation Office for National Statistics; National Records of Scotland; Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency; UK Data Service. 2011 Census: Digitised Boundary Data (England and Wales; Scotland; Northern Ireland) [computer file]
Geographical Coverage Location England
Granularity Counties
Geographic Spatial data {"geo_type": "multipolygon", "lat": "52.8607", "lon": "-2.27522", "left": "-6.31322", "top": "55.8111", "right": "1.76277", "bottom": "49.9103", "srid": null, "accuracy": null, "source": null}