2011 Census Geography boundaries (Local Authorities)

Local Authority is a generic term used to cover London Boroughs, Metropolitan Districts, Non-Metropolitan Districts, and Unitary Authorities in England; Unitary Authorities in Wales; Council Areas in Scotland; and Local Government Districts in Northern Ireland.

The Local Authorities area list contains 404 areas of the following constituent geographies:

Please visit ONS Beginner's Guide to UK Geography for more info.

The boundaries are available as either extent of the realm (usually this is the Mean Low Water mark but in some cases boundaries extend beyond this to include off shore islands) or

clipped to the coastline (Mean High Water mark).

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Created September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Visibility Public
Year 2011
Topics Geography
Geographic Layer Council Areas
Local Authorities
Local Government Districts
London Boroughs
Metropolitan Districts
Non-Metropolitan Districts
Unitary Authorities
Frequency Decennial
Citation Office for National Statistics; National Records of Scotland; Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency; UK Data Service. 2011 Census: Digitised Boundary Data (England and Wales; Scotland; Northern Ireland) [computer file]
Geographical Coverage Location UK
Granularity Local Authorities
Geographic Spatial data {"geo_type": "multipolygon", "lat": "55.4099", "lon": "-3.4263", "left": "-8.61537", "top": "60.8457", "right": "1.76277", "bottom": "49.9742", "srid": null, "accuracy": null, "source": null}