2011 Census Geography boundaries (Regions)

Regions were built up of complete counties/unitary authorities so, although they were subject to change, they always reflected administrative boundaries as at the end of the previous year.

The Region area list contains nine areas for English Regions, and provides coverage of England only.

Please visit ONS Beginner's Guide to UK Geography for more info.

The boundaries are available as either extent of the realm (usually this is the Mean Low Water mark but in some cases boundaries extend beyond this to include off shore islands) or

clipped to the coastline (Mean High Water mark).

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Created September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Visibility Public
Year 2011
Topics Geography
Geographic Layer Regions
Frequency Decennial
Citation Office for National Statistics; National Records of Scotland; Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency; UK Data Service. 2011 Census: Digitised Boundary Data (England and Wales; Scotland; Northern Ireland) [computer file]
Geographical Coverage Location England
Granularity Regions
Geographic Spatial data {"geo_type": "multipolygon", "lat": "52.8607", "lon": "-2.27522", "left": "-6.31322", "top": "55.8111", "right": "1.76277", "bottom": "49.9103", "srid": null, "accuracy": null, "source": null}