2011 Census Geography boundaries (Wards and Electoral Divisions)

Electoral Wards/Divisions are the key building blocks of UK administrative geography. They are the spatial units used to elect local government councillors in metropolitan and non-metropolitan districts, unitary authorities and the London boroughs in England; unitary authorities in Wales; council areas in Scotland; and district council areas in Northern Ireland.

The Wards and Electoral Divisions list contains 9,481 areas of the following constituent geographies:

Please visit ONS Beginner's Guide to UK Geography for more info.

The boundaries are available as either extent of the realm (usually this is the Mean Low Water mark but in some cases boundaries extend beyond this to include off shore islands) or

clipped to the coastline (Mean High Water mark).

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Created September 20, 2022, 17:15 (BST)
Visibility Public
Year 2011
Topics Geography
Geographic Layer Census Electoral Divisions
Census Wards
Frequency Decennial
Citation Office for National Statistics; National Records of Scotland; Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency; UK Data Service. 2011 Census: Digitised Boundary Data (England and Wales; Scotland; Northern Ireland) [computer file]
Geographical Coverage Location UK
Granularity Wards and Electoral Divisions
Geographic Spatial data {"geo_type": "multipolygon", "lat": "55.4099", "lon": "-3.4263", "left": "-8.61537", "top": "60.8457", "right": "1.76277", "bottom": "49.9742", "srid": null, "accuracy": null, "source": null}